Claire Innes-Hopkins is Director of Chapel Choirs at the University of St Andrews, which includes conducting the highly acclaimed St Salvator’s Chapel Choir.

Claire was Organ Scholar at Selwyn College, Cambridge, where she read Music.  After university Claire spent two years as Organ Scholar at Peterborough Cathedral, gaining her FRCO in the summer 2009.  In 2010 she moved to Oxford to take up the post of Tutor to the Choristers at Magdalen College School, and Associate Organist at Magdalen College.  Claire began her musical career as a chorister, and then moved to Christ’s Hospital for her sixth form studies, following which she took up the post of Assistant Organist at Winchester College for her gap year. 

Moving to Lincoln Cathedral in 2011, her main responsibilities as Assistant Organist included accompanying the Cathedral Choir, training the probationary choristers, and conducting the chamber choir, Lincoln Cathedral Consort.  For her swan-song upon leaving Lincoln at Easter 2014, Claire performed Giles Swayne’s virtuosic Stations of the Crosson Good Friday at Lincoln Cathedral, and was honoured that the composer attended the performance.

In April 2014, she took up the post of Assistant Director of Music at Rochester Cathedral, which included directing the girl choristers.  In November 2017 Claire took on the role of Acting Director of Music at Rochester Cathedral, which included directing the boy choristers in addition to the girls.

Claire has extensive experience as a solo recitalist and an accompanist, playing at many cathedrals and concert halls, including St Paul’s, Westminster and Hereford cathedrals, and the Royal Albert Hall, where she performed Saint Saëns’ Organ Symphony, as well as playing for CD recordings and live radio broadcasts.

Claire is a Trinity College London theory examiner, and an ABRSM practical examiner. In her spare time Claire loves sport and currently plays hockey for Madras FPs Ladies 1st XI. Claire also sings, and is a soprano in the Holst Singers, conducted by Stephen Layton.

Tom Wilkinson is Associate Lecturer and University Organist.  Under his leadership, St Salvator’s Chapel Choir has gained an international reputation for powerfully committed performances backed up by innovative research.  Born in 1985, he studied at St Mary’s Music School, Edinburgh, and was subsequently Organ Scholar of Truro Cathedral, Cornwall.  In 2004 he took up the Organ Scholarship at The Queen’s College, Oxford, and graduated with first-class honours in Music in 2007.  In the same year, Tom took the Fellowship Diploma of the Royal College of Organists.  From 2008-9 he held the position of Assistant Director of Music at Chelmsford Cathedral.  Tom holds a Master’s degree in Early Keyboard Performance, with distinction, from the University of Edinburgh, and is engaged in PhD study of the pedagogical outputs of J. S. Bach and his pupils, under the supervision of Professor John Butt.  He is known as a fine exponent of contemporary music, having premiered music by James MacMillan and performed as concerto soloist with Scotland’s Red Note Ensemble.  In 2015 Tom founded the Kellie Consort, which exists to provide pre-professional training and performance opportunities for young musicians with a connection to Scotland.  For more information, please visit

Matthew McIlree is a second year Campbell Watterson Organ Scholar at the University of St. Andrews, where he has taken up both piano and organ scholarships alongside his degree in mathematics and computer science. He began learning piano and violin in 2005 and achieved a place at the Music School of Douglas Academy in 2012. There, he took up organ and studied with David Hamilton from 2013, having been introduced to the instrument at his local church. He regularly accompanies services sung by St Salvator’s Chapel Choir under the direction of Claire Innes-Hopkins.  Matthew has always enjoyed collaborative piano and organ, and is looking to make the most of accompaniment opportunities St Andrews has to offer.

Sam Myers is a second year Campbell Watterson Organ Scholar, having previously been organ scholar of Hexham Abbey. He has studied organ with Stuart Ralston, Marcus Wibberley and Michael Haynes and piano with Sarah Robinson. Sam regularly accompanies services sung by St Salvator’s Chapel Choir under the direction of Claire Innes-Hopkins.  He studies maths and likes to run and climb in his spare time. 

Isabel Wideman is a first year Campbell Watterson Organ Scholar, having previously been organ scholar at Wakefield Cathedral and St Mary Magdalene Church, Richmond where she worked with Tom Moore and Alex Knight, respectively, developing her organ and conducting skills. She started piano at the age of seven and consequently took up cello before being given the opportunity to learn the organ at her school chapel. She is studying English Literature and when not playing the organ, plays cello in the university’s Symphony Orchestra as well as playing for the 3XI hockey team.


Anna Lyons –  David Dorward Choral Scholarship 

Amelia Poole – Mary Macdougall Choral Scholarship 

Harriet Tyler – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Natalie Klaes – Alan Chalmers Choral Scholarship 

Rebecca Black – Mary Carpenter Choral Scholarship 

Holly Scrivener – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Martha Prindl – Cedric Thorpe Davie Choral Scholarship 

Alex de la Motte – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Mildred Maybury – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Harriet Watts Williamson – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 


Rebekah Loughran – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Rachel Hambling – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Isabelle Cory – Alan Chalmers Choral Scholarship 

Eva Whittaker – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Harry Street – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Evie Kerr – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Catriona Kadirkamanathan – Bursary Choral Scholarship

Holly Bonwitt-Marsh – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 


Sebastian Robson – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Peter Dorey – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Angus Armstrong – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Theo Wilson – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Sebastian Lister – John C. Hall Choral Scholarship 

Duncan Tarboton – Alan Chalmers Choral Scholarship 


Teddy Day – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Peter Folkes – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Isaac Bateman – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

James Rowland – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Ross McArthur – Mary Simmers Choral Scholarship 

Henry Hayden – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship 

Brannon Liston-Smith – Heather C Higgins Choral Scholarship